The Eight Precepts

devi malas on etsy

devi malas on etsy

I was meditating this morning on how I want to follow the eight precepts, when I found myself having trouble remembering what they actually were. Instead of obsessing about it, I decided to look them up when I was done and memorize them for future reference. That is until I found out… I don’t want to live by all eight!

I guess I wasn’t paying attention to the last three:

•Abstain from eating at the wrong time, this is before sunrise and after noon.

•Abstain from singing, dancing, listening to music or other media, entertainment, games but also any cosmetics and accessories like jewelry.

•Abstain from indulging in sleep, or sleeping in indulgent beds.


Anyone who knows me, knows I am a dancing fool and will do so anywhere and at anytime.

In my opinion the above mentioned precepts are an important part of being alive… and enjoying it!

After further research I see that monks and nuns are the ones expected to abide by the last three and people like me, can get by with observing the first five. That’s good news.

BUT, then again, why can’t nuns and monks dance, listen to music and wear accessories or wear a little lipstick (male or female) if it makes them happy? I just don’t see the harm.

Life is supposed to be fun!!!

One of the many reasons I don’t like religions is because of their dogma. “You can’t do this and you can’t do that.”  

Oh yeah? Who says I can’t?  And why?

I guess that’s part of my non-conformist personality coming out…




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.