Zen and the Art of chopping Veggies

be here now

“Zen does not confuse spirituality with thinking about God while one is peeling potatoes. Zen spirituality is just to peel the potatoes.” ~ Alan Watts

I saw this quote a few different times this week, so today I decided to “just chop up the veggies” for my stir-fry dinner. It wasn’t easy (at least for me anyway). My mind kept talking to me, trying to distract me from just being in the present moment… cutting the veggies.

Another quote from Alan Watts popped in my head, “thoughts are just noise.” Yeah, there is definitely a lot of noise in my head sometimes. It even wakes me up in the middle of the night (which is really annoying).

After I was finished preparing the veggies, I thought about my mind wandering, chattering away and thought, Isn’t wanting to get rid of chatter and wanting to be in the present moment, a form of attachment?

When I get frustrated for not achieving my goal of “quieting my mind”, then isn’t that a form of suffering?

Looks like I need to contemplate that some more…

Namaste

Ingebird

Leave a Reply

