Religion, God, Buddhism and Spirtuality

jesus and buddha

This post is a continuation from my post, “You Say Potato, I Say Potahto”… I am still meditating and sorting my feelings out about religion, god, Buddhism and spirituality.

I have been interested in spirituality on and off for most of my adult life. In the 90s I spent a few months sitting in different churches wanting to learn what each one had to say about life. Nothing really stuck though so I figured maybe my spiritual quest was more of a hobby, not a lifestyle — that is until I went to the Zen Center.

Everything about Buddhism “clicked.” The dharma talks and sitting Zazen felt right to me. I didn’t feel pressured to believe in something that I didn’t. Most churches that I’ve been to anyway, seem to require a belief in a supreme god; a heaven and a hell. I’m not saying I don’t believe in their existence, I just don’t know if they do or do not exist. And frankly, I’m interested in the now — the living. I have enough trouble staying out of trouble in this life without the added pressure of thinking about the afterlife.

Christians believe that Jesus is the son of god AND god at the same time. Born Again Christians believe that AND throw in: if you don’t accept Jesus as your Savior you are going straight to Hell– without a hand basket. That is just too over the top for me.

What I can get behind is the idea that Jesus did exist and he was a pretty cool dude who had a lot of cool ideas about compassion. I think that’s an idea we can all agree on, no matter what religious or philosophical beliefs we aspire to.

Namaste,
Ingebird

3 thoughts on “Religion, God, Buddhism and Spirtuality

  1. I can relate to your thoughts on christianity, Ingebird!
    “Living Buddha, Living Christ” was the first book by Thich Nhat Hanh I read
    and it helped me see Jesus & Buddha as brothers, with the similarities of their teachings. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

