Spiritual Awakening

spiritual-awakening

For the past week I have been listening to interviews on the Sounds True Series. I got through eighty-percent of them and finally called it quits. What I ended up doing (and this is a bad habit of mine) was listen to a speaker define what his “awakening” was like (all the speakers were asked that same question) and then I looked up their website, blog or Facebook page to learn more about them. Each one’s experience, ranged from a huge satori-like awakening to a gradual one. There were even a couple who were so “out there” I had no idea what they were talking about.

I wrote about my awakenings in an earlier post but now I’m not even sure if I can call them that. No one came to me in a dream. I wasn’t struck by lightning. Although the last time I got serious about a spiritual path was after my cancer diagnosis, but even then, it was more of a curiosity. I just started asking myself questions… what about this? What about that? What is this thing called “life” really about? The standard answers from mainstream religions just didn’t make sense to me, but eastern religious thought did.

Did I mention in any of my posts that I am an empath? Well, I am… so throw that in the spiritual mix and I have quite a “soup” of ideas. I was always able to feel the energy in the environment I was in, whether it is a room or city. Sometimes it’s a gift and other times it wears me out. There isn’t a whole lot of writing in any of the spiritual teachings about that subject.

I’ve had several paranormal experiences throughout my life, so I know there is a lot more going on than just the physical plane. Trying to mesh all this into a single spiritual practice is impossible, at least so far it is. Having different spiritual beliefs seems normal for me, but according to some of the teachers I listened to, these beliefs are wrong. Some went on to say, “If you didn’t have a major life changing awakening you are not really awake.”

This way of thinking leads me to believe that spiritual awakening is subjective. Just because my experience isn’t like yours doesn’t make one of us right and the other wrong. The spiritual path is part of our own unique life journey and that includes those who don’t believe in anything. There is no right or wrong… there just “is.”

Spirituality and religious beliefs are deeply personal. That’s probably why many people get upset if their beliefs are challenged and don’t get me started about all the “killing” done in the name of religion.

From now on, I will listen to other points of view and teachings but I won’t race over to their social media site and cram in as much information as I can. It’s too overwhelming and I forget half of what they said anyway. I think it would be more helpful if I just picked a teacher who I never heard of and read their perspective and moved on when I was ready to learn from another.

How about you? How do you sort all of this out?

Namaste,

ingebird

One thought on “Spiritual Awakening

  1. after many years of retreats
    living at monasteries
    i enjoy hearing teachers’ inspired words
    but know when insight appears
    it’s from the awareness of what is happening
    within and without during mindful breaths
    and wise actions,
    moment by moment!
    good luck along
    the way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

