My First Walking Meditation

 

etsy3 004

Thich Nhat Hanh  writes a lot about walking meditation, so today I thought I would try it when I took my dogs for their afternoon walk.  My dogs are probably better at it than me since they always live in the moment, but I was willing to give it a try. Luckily we didn’t run into any neighbors.

I’ll admit I wasn’t always in the present moment. I found myself thinking, Hey! This is nice. Just me, Hoss and Bingo, enjoying the outdoors. I know from reading about staying in the present, as soon as I acknowledge I’m in the present, I’m already out.

I did find an interesting leaf laying on the sidewalk and a small lizard! The little guy was hiding by the steps close to a bush. It was looking right at us. Maybe if I hadn’t focused on staying present, I would have missed them–or not. The thing is, I experienced them. I took time to really look at them. I plan to do more walking meditation at least once a day and see what I’ve been missing.

Namaste,

ingebird

 

2 thoughts on “My First Walking Meditation

Leave a Reply

