Sometimes the Lesson Isn’t What I Expected

religion spirtuality

One of the Buddhist bloggers I follow wrote something the other day that bothered me. Without going into detail, I’ll just say, he isn’t a “fan” of some other spiritual teachers. It wasn’t the first time he called these people out, so maybe that’s why it got my attention.

After reflecting on it, I’ve come to the conclusion that it wasn’t what he wrote that bothered me — he was actually shining a light on my own behavior. How many times do I believe “my way” is the right way? How many times do I cringe when I hear someone say they are Born Again Christian, thinking the only reason they told me is because they’re planning to convert me? I’m guilty of judging others who think differently from me much too often and reading this person’s post reminded me of that.

There are many different spiritual beliefs I don’t resonate with, but that doesn’t make them any less valid for someone else. It’s not my place to judge someone’s religion, spiritual practice or non-belief. If I want to take my Buddhist practice seriously then I’m better off remaining open to all the different ways we express ourselves and how we  live our lives.

Instead of getting upset with this blogger, I will thank him for pointing out my own transgressions.

Namaste,

ingebird

3 thoughts on “Sometimes the Lesson Isn’t What I Expected

  1. This is such a wonderful sentiment, and such a valid contemplation in so many areas. I find myself more and more in moments of judgement able to stop and ponder how I can apply the act I am judging to my own life? How can I start with myself and where have I commited similar actions, and what were their results? It’s a practice that often leads to less judging of the other and more insight into my own path….that is, when I can remember to do so. 😉

    Like

  2. I am so glad I found this blog post today!
    With the recent passing of the final Super Moon, I have been one cranky, judgemental, emotional mess.
    One thing that really hit home for me in this post was your awareness of the ‘triggers’ in your life and within your spiritual journey. Most people would have bashed the guy publicly, expressed their distaste and went on with their life, fuming relentlessly about his comments for weeks.
    But much like you, whenever I stumble across someone or something that just does not resonate with me, I immediately turn inward and begin the process of self evaluation. I dig out the root of my negative emotion and find the gem of truth buried within it. There is always a truth within us that must be acknowledged, during any negative emotion.
    Thank you so much for this post!
    It was exactly the reminder I needed today. I am glad to know others are challenging their thoughts, emotions and feelings as well! It is refreshing and inspiring to see! ❤

    Namaste & Blessed Be!

    Like

Leave a Reply

