How I Make Sense of Today’s Crazy World

peace-2

Namaste Dear Reader,

Thank you for stopping by. I wanted to write about the latest events (to put it mildly) in Paris, but before I did, I checked my email. One of them was from a blogger, who is a Soto Zen nun, living in Japan. She wrote pretty everything I wanted to, so I am forwarding her post here.

There are a couple more things I want to add. To keep things in perspective; I focus on the Paris citizens who opened their homes and hearts to the victims who couldn’t go home that horrific night.

There are at least seven billion people on the planet and only a micro fraction are causing havoc and destruction.The majority of us want to live in peace.

One of my favorite quotes is from Fred Rogers, my son watched his show Mr. Rogers, daily when he was a little boy:

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”

So that’s what I choose to do; I look for the helpers. We humans do come together when tragedy strikes, even if our stories don’t make the evening news.

I have no idea how to stop terrorism but I can be kind to my neighbor, to the guy who bags my groceries and to the homeless person I see asking for help. I can be the peace I want to see in the world and send loving prayers to all sentient beings who suffer.

Namaste,

ingebird

 

Leave a Reply

