“Everything Happens for a Reason”

How many times have you heard the expression, “Everything happens for a reason”? I’ve heard it and read it, countless times from all kinds of spiritual authors. Even  Buddhism has its own version.

blessing

 

To be honest, it never made sense to me… until this morning:

A couple days ago I was making my daily smoothie, and was about to add hemp oil from a new bottle I just bought, when the squirt top seemed to be clogged. (I hadn’t used hemp oil for the last month because I ran out and I didn’t want to buy a new bottle because we were moving. I didn’t want to spend the money and my skin suffered from that decision. I have eczema and hemp oil keeps it under control.) Since nothing was coming out, I unscrewed the top, tipped the bottle over and about a third of the oil spilled into the smoothie. I wanted to add only three tablespoons!

My first thought was, “Oh crap! I ruined the smoothie!” but me being the frugal cheap person that I am, refused to throw away the smoothie; instead I added more fruit and water. It still tasted oily but I chose to make the best of it.

It wasn’t until this morning, while I was looking at my face in the mirror, that the quote, everything happens for a reason, popped into my head. My skin looked better. Then I thought, what if spilling the hemp oil was not an accident? What if my skin needed that extra oil to heal more quickly and my higher self/spirit guide, or whomever, made me pour that amount? What if what I thought was a careless accident turned out to be exactly what I needed?

Has something similar happened to you? Has any of your mistakes or accidents or disappointments, turned out to be a blessing in disguise?

Namaste,

ingebird

 

Leave a Reply

