Buddhism and Abraham Hicks

5 precepts

Practicing the five precepts of Buddhism is something I try to live by on a day-to-day basis. Some days I’m better at it than others.

A few months ago I discovered the teachings of Abraham Hicks. Its basic premise is; your life experiences are a result of what you think and believe. Its Law of Attraction 101. Abraham’s teachings have a few similarities to Buddhism, in that they both teach;

  • You find happiness from within not outside of yourself.
  • You are responsible for your actions.
  • Feel grateful for what you have in your life experience right now.
  • Meditation and the importance of living in the moment.

I resonate with all of those ideas.

1

So now I study both philosophies daily and they help me be aware of my actions and my thoughts throughout the day. Before Abraham, I used to allow myself to get sucked into another person’s drama. I found myself trying to fix the person’s problem instead of allowing them to find their own solution and grow from their experience. I was everybody’s “mom” and it was wearing me out. Now I either listen and try to be supportive or I change the subject to something positive.

1a

I also look at my own behavior, especially my thoughts. When I find myself thinking negatively, I remind myself that they are only thoughts and then gently bring myself back to the present moment. My thoughts used rule my life and I believed everything my mind told me. Now I ask myself if what I’m thinking is really true and for the most the answer is “no.”

Infusing Buddhism and Abraham’s teachings has made my life happier.

Namaste,

Ingebird

Leave a Reply

